The QPR 'team' is back!‏

05/08/2013 08:59

 

I will fully admit now that the close season is as boring as hell; Friday night I was like a kid on Christmas Eve!
I was also pleased to see the new Wig, making its debut, get some great comments as well as photo's; Clint Hill even called me Birch (Marc Bircham for our younger fans). 

                                                                         
The first surprise was the inclusion of Joey Barton; I'm not a fan but new season so clean slate. He had, in my humble opinion, his best game in a hooped shirt. 
From the start the team played for each other, backed each other up, encouraged one another; we looked like a team!
When we went behind it was a great test of the team’s togetherness; when we replied with two goals before the break it showed we wanted it. 
   One thing we did get Saturday was the rub of the green; Sheffield Wednesday hit the post and could have had two penalties (watching them in real time I agreed with the referee, seeing them on TV since and still don't think either of them were pens!)
  One player to me started to really stick out; even when he was lying on the ground he was winning the ball. Ali Faurlin is back! What a midfield master-class. He covered every blade of grass at least four times. 


When Charlie Austin came on we looked sharper; Bobby Zamora had another game to forget. I counted two headers he won; compare that to  Andrew Johnson, who ran round like a teenager! When AJ lost the ball he at least tried to get it back!
We have no room for passengers this season; players are wearing the hoops with pride and as a fan that is all we can ask. 
The team looked well balanced, Junior Hoilett never stopped running and Karl Henry put it about. 
Chris Kirkland to me is an underrated goalkeeper; he had a superb game or I'd be writing about a cricket score. 
It was nice to start with a win and remember, Harry has until the end of August to get more players both in and out. 
I for one am looking forward to the new campaign; the rollercoaster has started and if we hit the heights we did on Saturday then who knows a parade? 

 

The Wig